60km Kuranda to Port Ultra Trail Race & Relay

Register Here

This Point-to-point race starts just off  Kennedy Highway in Kuranda and follows Black Mountain Road and the Bump track to Port Douglas. The course runs  through native rainforest, open eucalypt forest,  pine plantations and crosses picturesque creeks. It is a scenic course incorporated  in the Mowbray National Park within the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area. The  pyramid-shaped Black Mountain is a prominent feature of the race. The tropical  rainforest is home to the endangered southern cassowary, a flightless bird that  can grow to  two metres in height.


3 October 2021

Competitor information pack

Available via email prior to the race.


To the start

The 60km Kuranda to Port Douglas race starts on Black Mountain Road approximately 200m from the Kennedy Highway turn off. It takes about 30 minutes to drive from Cairns Esplanade/CBD to the start of the race. There is street parking at the start. This is not an easy location to return to, so book the bus if you are a visitor into town or don’t have someone picking you up in Port Douglas to drive you back to your car at the start.
The bus departs and returns to Cairns. 
No transport is provided for those in the 60km K2PD Relay.


Non-certified solo trail race of 60 km, or 60 km relay.

How long in existence

Inaugural race was held on 28 August 2011.

Race records

64km individual ultra: Male – Glen Robinson (2013) 5:14:07; Female – Stephanie Auston (5.18.52, 2020)

64km Relay: CWL in 4:46:51, 2018. Leg 1 (14km) Tim Jack, (Leg 2) 14km Craig Langdon (2:12) ; Leg 3 (21km) John Schreuder (1:28); Leg 4 (16km) Andrew Packer (1:06:51)

Past winners

64km K2PD Ultra

Year Male Time Female Time
2011 Ben Carter 5:45:14 Julie Sager 6:41:58
2012 Oliver Zambon 5:27:19 Mandy Noble 6:06:18
2013 Glen Robinson 5:14:07 Nikki Wynd 5:52:38
2014 Steve Cunningham 5:55:47 Yvette Edward 6:09:18
2015 David von Senden 6:04:17 Sonya Alba-Miller 7:02:06
2016 Bryan O’Mahony 5.31.23 Alena Scurrah 6.55.52
2017 David von Senden 5:36:50 Alena Scurrah 6:32:39
2018 Leo Schoepflin 5:27:22 Janelle Johnson 6:11:57
2019 Troy Ireland 6:04:48 Alena Scurrah 6:23:53
2020 Adam Fox 5:27:05 Stephanie Auston 5:18:52

64km K2PD Relay

Year Team Time Team members
2011 1 team No time recorded  
2012 Chicks with Kicks 6:11:55  
2013 ACE 5.49.02  
2014 Vanessa’s Team 6.08.41  
2015 Trail Chicks 7:29:19 Maria Pin, Mara Rooks, Rosie Cifuentes, Susie Alba
2016 Basilisk Boys 5.48.45 Neil Bertram, Neal  Kleve, Adrian  Darveniza and Richard  Curzon
2017 Trinity Chicks 5.28.47 Tracey Mcdonald, Legs 1 & 2, 27km; Akane Goode, Leg 3, 21km; Angel Hayes, Leg 4, 16km
2018 CWL 4:46:51 Leg 1 14km Tim Jack & Leg 2 14km Craig Langdon (2:12) ; Leg 3 21km John Schreuder (1:28); Leg 4 16km Andrew Packer (1:06:51)
2019 3 chicks and a biker 5:53:13 Leg 1 13km Wes Swindale, Leg 2 13km Katherine Johnson, Leg 3 21km Kristin Soda, Leg 4 17km Christy King
2020 The young and the breathless 🙂 6:08:10 Leg 1 13km Jeanette Gegg, Leg 2 13 km Kylie Brown, Let 3 21km Robert Clause, Leg 4 17 km Liam Madin

K2PD Past top three winners












Race Organisers

Dynamic Running Ltd. 2014-onwards

Cairns Road Runners and Triathlon Club 2011-2013